# Expiration of Spamexperts bundle

## Question

What happens with a bundle account when it expires?

## Answer

A Spamexperts bundle is automatically renewed on its expiration date unless the account balance is insufficient at that time.

Expiration of a Spamexperts bundle is performed in three steps:

1. **Filtering disabled**: At the moment of expiration the bundle is not just deleted but whitelisted with a 'wildcard' address for all filters. This means that every e-mail is accepted and the recipient finds spam messages in the mailbox.
2. **Mail delivery disabled**: If after one week the bundle is still expired, mail delivery is disabled. The mail recipients will not receive any e-mails anymore.
3. **Removal of filters**: Another week later, the filters are removed from the Spamexperts servers and all settings, logs and quarantined e-mails are lost.

In all stages, an expired bundle can be reactivated. After reactivation, allow a few hours for all settings to be restored. Reactivation during phases \[1\] and \[2\] recover all filter settings. Reactivation after removal of the filters (phase \[3\]) result in recovering of the mail routes (destination hosts) and aliases, but all other settings are lost and cannot be restored.